Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Seven-Branched Sword

The Seven-Branched Sword 

The Seven-Branched Sword (七支刀), also known as the Seven-Pronged Sword, the Seven-Branched Knife, the Seven-Pronged Spear, Nanatsusaya no Tachi in Nihon shoki, Chiljido in Korea is a 74.9 cm long iron sword with six branch-like protrusions along the central blade, designated one of the National Treasures of Japan. The original sword is currently housed in the Isonokami Shrine in Nara Prefecture of Japan and not shown to the public. Replicas are displayed throughout the country and in South Korea. An inscription on the side of the blade is an important source depicting the relationships between the East Asian countries of the period.

No comments:

Post a Comment